Black’s Harbour Wesleyan began its ministry in our community some 90 years ago – the summer of 1930. Until 1935, services were held in a home and then in a vacated school building. In the spring of 1935, a building was erected and in July of 1936, through the generosity of A.M.A. McLean, the mortgage on the church was burned.
A number of building improvements and additions took place across the years. These changes provided for classroom space, nursery, enlarged auditorium, fellowship hall, and a kitchen. A parsonage was also constructed in 1949.
Across the intervening years, the church has had a consistent ministry in our community and has enjoyed seasons of growth and advancement as well as times of struggle and difficulty. Our immediate community of Blacks Harbour has declined in population across the years. Our congregation now consists not only of people from Blacks but a number of other Charlotte County communities.
Our facilities are very inviting, our parking lot is more than adequate, our congregation is multi-generational, and our staff combines youth and experience. Our deep commitment to unity, our refusal to be controlled by negative attitudes, to rejoice when someone finds Christ and to always believe and in a better tomorrow is unwavering.